Skip to main content Skip to search
Ethnic Groups

In China, ethnic groups are known as "nationalities" (民族 minzu), with the Han ethnic group (汉族 Hanzu) being the largest and making up over ninety percent of the population. The Chinese government officially recognizes 56 nationalities within China, including the Han ethnic group. The other ethnic groups of China are known collectively as "minority nationalities" (少数民族 shaoshu minzu), a category which includes Tibetans (藏族 Zangzu) and Mongolians (蒙古族 Mengguzu).

  • Ethnic Groups (English, Latin script, Original)
    • > མི་རིགས། (Tibetan, Tibetan script, Translation)
      • > mi rigs (Tibetan, Latin script, Transliteration-THL Extended Wylie Transliteration)
      • > mirik (Tibetan, Latin script, Transcription-THL Simplified Tibetan Transcription)
    • > 民族 (Chinese, Simplified Chinese Characters, Translation)
      • > minzu (Chinese, Latin script, Transcription-Pinyin Transcription)

Subject ID: S5182